Motherhood of the Travelling Baby

Adventure is no stranger to my husband and me. I’ve had the desire to explore ever since my elementary days. My mom would wrap me up in a blanket past midnight and sit me in her passenger seat and we’d drive off into the night. When my step dad came into the picture we used to go on long drives around Los Angeles. I went to Mexico with my grandma a few times and took a train to San Antonio, Texas once. At seventeen years of age I moved to Ogden, Utah for three years. It’s safe to say I’ve lived the majority of my life on the road.

When I moved to California I was reunited with my (now) husband. We’d been childhood friends who’d grown apart for a few years. After exchanging stories of our adventures the first night we came across each other again we decided to become adventure buddies.

Fast forward three years and here we are! Atticus’ first L.A. experience was LACMA. It was a cold December night and I was eager for some time outside after being cooped up at home for so long.

His next stop was the Los Angeles Natural History Museum. In case you’re in the area I’ll give you a heads up about their free days. Every first Tuesday of the month (except July and August) admission is free! There IS a $15 parking fee though. So, naturally, we took Atticus to stroll for a bit. I absolutely LOVE that museum. He’s super observant of everything and he behaved really well, which to me is a great sign.

His third outing is the Aquarium of the Pacific in Long Beach. The WIC office gave me a coupon to the aquarium with a big discount. Tickets would only be $5 for four people plus a $8 parking fee. The tickets expired December 24th so we made sure to go before that.

New Years was his latest adventure yet. We woke up at 3am and headed to Santa Monica to watch the sunrise on the first of January but it was too cold to be out on the pier so we drove to Signal Hill around 6am. The roads were hidden with fog that morning and the view was amazing!

I know he’s really young but I’m hoping if we start the exploring at a young age he’ll grow to love it too. Kids these days are too into technology and before he’s engulfed into that phase I want to show him there’s more to life than a screen.

2 thoughts on “Motherhood of the Travelling Baby

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑